LC!


Gareth Campesinos!’ Records Of 2010 by Gareth
December 2, 2010, 3:27 pm
Filed under: CHAFF

And so, the moment I’ve been waiting for, my 12 albums for 2010. That averages at one a month </justification for exceeding ten>

I was intending to do this in order of preference, but the late arrival of Kanye convinced me otherwise. Right now I can’t see that I like an album from this year more than My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, but 12 months ago I’d have said the same about Perfume Genius’ Learning. Making a snap decision now could only cause me to cause some horrific injustice like, oooh, I dunno, suggesting the Marina And The Diamonds record is better than Kanye. Idiocy.

I cannot write about music, so please forgive these descriptions, they’re just to break up the pics, like.

So, in no particular order…


Psychorama – Bathcrones

Bright melodies bubbling atop and overflowing from slow motion beats. All sheets of synth noise and groove. An oddly uplifting record, kinda like a crack of light under the doorframe of a darkened room.

iTunes / Label


Love King – The Dream

The-Dream’s written some of modern chart music’s biggest hits (Umbrella, Single Ladies) but his solo records show an intelligence and degree of concept that very few people would expect. Dark, self obsessed stuff hidden behind MASSIVE TUNES. Our generation’s Michael Jackson, I tell you.

iTunes


Carve Out The Face Of My God – Infinite Body

The most melodic shoegazy/ambient record I can recall hearing. Released on No Age’s Post Present Medium record label, this drone is modern day classical music if you ask me.

iTunes / Label


Autre Ne Veut – Autre Ne Veut

Like every annoying ten-minute trend this year, but with actual worth behind it, a set of bollocks and falsetto. Nostalgic, twisted pop-songs to make your head whir and your eyes cry ice cubes. This is one of my absolute favourites.

iTunes / Label


Blue Water White Death – Blue Water White Death

Starring Jamie Stewart and Shearwater’s Jonathan Meiburg, this, for me, harks back to La Foret era Xiu Xiu. Centred around acoustic instrumentation and eerie, threatening mantras.

iTunes / Label


LA Vampires Meets Zola Jesus – LA Vampires Meets Zola Jesus

Massively succesful year for Zola Jesus’ Nika Roza, whose Stridulum EP has seen her break into a world that I could never have imagined (though am so pleased to see her in). However this, her work with Pocahaunted’s Amanda Brown is my favourite of hers from this year. Mesmerising, minor key and dub tinged, this is pretty trippy stuff.

iTunes / Label


Dagger Paths – Forest Swords

So happy that this is receiving a late push from the likes of Pitchfork. Wirral producer Matthew Barnes is a gentleman, and produces music like nothing I can recall exactly hearing before. His cover of Aaliyah’s ‘If Your Girl’ may well be my track of the year (actually, no, that’s The-Dreams F.I.L.A., but still).

iTunes / Label


Suburban Tours – Rangers

Like early Ariel Pink, but less annoying (to my ears). Every AM radio song of the 80s recorded to cassette and played atop of each other over a melted car stereo. But sad, very sad.

iTunes / Label


Learning – Perfume Genius

The most delicate and tortured music I’ve heard since the highest (or is that lowest) points of This Mortal Coil. Just a beautiful man and his demons sat aside a piano. I’ve gone on about this record enough that if I’ve not convinced you by now, I’m sure I never will.

iTunes / Label


My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy – Kanye West

There are no words.

iTunes


Mare – Julian Lynch

Hazy, folky pop songs made ‘difficult’. Soothing and rewarding.

iTunes / Label


New Love – Former Ghosts

Industrial, hyper emotional tales of the heart and soul from the composer of my favourite album of 2009. This second full length pays even more attention to detail and space. Somehow more pop and more brutal than before.

iTunes / Label

Needless to say, I’m excited for all the upcoming End Of Year Lists from certain publications, to see what brilliant stuff I’ve missed out on this year. And maybe yours too?

22 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am going to have to give most of these a listen. Kanye’s album is probably second on my own list. SO GOOD.

Comment by Teabiscuit

No Privilege? Or is that because it’s an EP

Comment by michael

Never heard ‘Infinite Body’, but the description is ace.

Comment by Ray

Can’t decide my favourite between Romance is Boring, Plastic Beach or The Suburbs!

Comment by Barney Hunter

Kanye album is horribly overated. No album with 2 minutes of Chris Rock shitting all over one of it’s best songs can be one of the best of the year.

Comment by willy p

You forgot ‘Romance is Boring’. :D

Comment by Jordan

new avey tare, future islands, baths, high places, land of talk, lcd, sun airway, walkmen, robyn body talk pt1 records for me. plus the social network soundtrack. been struggling to like kanye but gave up.

Comment by Benni

The Kanye album is incredible, as the The-Dream one. And the Perfume Genius one, and all.

What did you think of the Nicki Minaj album, Gareth?

Comment by OlliB

MBDTF is AOTY worthy, but RIB is #1 to me!

Comment by Justin Leon

HEAT RASH IS MY FAVOURITE ALBUM OF THIS YEAR!

Comment by Tim Henman

Minaj disappointed me, I’m afraid Olli. Lost the grit and sass of her mixtapes.
I still like a lot of the record, but the disappointment at it not being the album I selfishly wanted holds me back.

STILL massively, massively have a crush on her.

Comment by Gareth

Not understanding the hype of the new kanye album. Anyone could write his shit lyrics. ‘Let’s have a toast to all the douchebags’ whatever happened to originality. Agree with the rest of the list, though.

Comment by lauryn

no xiu xiu? As much as I liked the Blue Water White Death album I’d put Dear God, I Hate Myself higher.

my list would be:
Silver Mount Zion- Kollaps Tradixionales
Zach Hill- Face Tat
Daisuke Tanabe- Before I Forget
Women- Public Stain
Afrirampo- We Are Uchu No Ko
Frankie Rose and the Outs- Self Titled
Alcest- Ecailles de Lune
Peggy Sue- Fossils and Other Phantoms
Xiu Xiu- Dear God I hate Myself
Mount Eerie- Song islands 2
Help She Can’t Swim- B Sides
Anika- Anika

Favorite album I heard this year though would be Animal Hospital- Memory from 2009

Comment by metamagical

I need to track down this Suburban Tours album. Have been hearing excited whispers about it from several corners of the internet…

I don’t have a list, but my favourite album of the year is probably Crystal Castles (II).

WORD on Minaj. Nothing on Pink Friday as epic and deranged as “Go Hard” or “Beam Me Up Scotty” from last year.

Comment by Mercer Finn

Mines, not that I’m particularly authoritative or anything, and I haven’t really given written anything about them.

http://terriblybored.tumblr.com/post/2075832418/albums-1-flying-lotus-cosmogramma-2-caribou

Comment by Antoin

Oh my, the first thing i thought when i saw this list was, wow another year passed by.

Nicki minajs’s voice on “Bottoms Up” makes me laugh every time i hear it! hahaha

@Lauryn:yes, i am sure anyone could have written the lyrics,”lets have a toast for the douchebags”, but did anyone do it before?. All i have to say is think about it. :]

Comment by Ana

I look forward to listening to some of the music on this list, I have only heard Kanye’s, which is brilliant of course. A few that you might want to take a look at are The National’s High Violet, Tame Impala’s (an amazing aussie band) Innerspeaker, Arcade Fire’s The Suburbs and Teen Dream by Beach House. You might not listen to that sort of music though.

Comment by Bryce

I think there’s a general sense of disappointment with Pink Friday because of the both the impossible hype Nicki had to live up to and the album being released at the same time as MBDTF. Personally, I let the amazing MBDTF unfairly shape my judgment of Pink Friday. Lots of solid/great songs on it, though.

Comment by John

Don’t know all of those by far, but the ones I do I like such as Former Ghosts, Perfume Genius, and Dagger Paths.
My short list is:
Sleigh Bells – Treats
Corine Bailey Rae – The Sea
LC! – RIB (duh)
Titus Andronicus – The Monitor
Peter Wolf Crier – Inter Be

Comment by Dude

[…] Gareth Campesinos!’ Records Of 2010 And so, the moment I’ve been waiting for, my 12 albums for 2010. That averages at one a month I was intending to do […] […]

Pingback by Top Posts — WordPress.com

Swans!

I didn’t listen to nearly enough records this year. RIB places very highly for me (and continues to grow in my affections – definitely the best LC! album, I’d say now), but a lot of the stuff people seem to like just seems really boring. Arcade Fire, Caribou, Four Tet, Deerhunter, Sufjan Stevens, Spoon, etc. etc. etc. – all duds this year.

Comment by Ian

Also, that Infinite Body record (which I’d never heard of) sounds AMAZING.

Comment by Ian




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

