LC!


My Van Mix Cd Experience by Ellen
April 2, 2009, 7:12 pm
Filed under: CHAFF

When Joe first gave us our tour itineraries (I will eventually upload a picture of these because they are so lovingly made) there was an unusual present contained inside.

A Blank Cd With A Date On. Mine Said “April 2nd”

Joe had come up which a new way to pass the time and systematically make us feel judged/ embarrassed/ humiliated or justified.

It’s called the “Everyone Make A Mix Cd For The Drive” game.

Mix C.D’s have these odd unspoken rules attached to their construction which for me starts with the psychoanalysis of the perceived audience, I generally want to surprise or enlighten my marketed listener and if I make them smile or even cry then my task is complete. Any extreme reaction is welcome. I also want to give a fair representation of my self with a small pecan slice of my inner persona shining through, scattered with the most precious of hints about what kind of thing I may have currently been digging. As nerve racking and exciting as making a mix cd for a large group of people maybe, there is nothing which beats the psychological trauma of the “I Secretly Love You” mix cd.

When I was more of a spring chicken I would make many for boys I hearted, however I was rather appalling at getting the right tone…All I cared about was the subliminal and I fretted that I might be giving far too much away by putting Bonnie Tyler’s “I Need a Hero” on there, so would deliberately try and make the most off hand casual collection of music I could and notulantly chuck it at them whilst being self deprecating about the content. 

Yet somehow I will still have put Bonnie Tyler’s “I need a Hero” on there.

The cd’s would sometimes be deliberately rebellious (yer I’m one of those fiery women), deliberately inoffensive (I’m prettttty deep) or just have songs with the word “Love” or “Heart” or “I Would Like to Caress it” in the title (“I’m pretttty desperate.”)

The best advice I think is from High Fidelity (one of my favorite films, the amount of boys I have known who have watched that film and gone “You dont get it, I am Rob!” which is weird because that’s exactly what I thought when I saw it)

Rob: To me, making a tape is like writing a letter. There’s a lot of erasing and rethinking and starting again. good compilation tape, like breaking up, is hard to do. You’ve got to kick off with a corker, to hold the attention (I started with “Got to Get You Off My Mind,” but then realized that she might not get any further than track one, side one if I delivered what she wanted straightaway, so I buried it in the middle of side two), and then you’ve got to up it a notch, or cool it a notch, and you can’t have two tracks by the same artist side by side, unless you’ve done the whole thing in pairs and…oh, there are loads of rules.

Aside unrelated Note: We were discussing the difference between American and British terms for becoming intimate with someone last night, on the way home from the Toronto show, with Kelly our merchandice lady not being a particular fan of the word “Snog.”

They also don’t have “Pull”, or “Get Off” with, but they do like the term “Make Out.”

Whether this involved fumbling and kissing or just kissing was somewhat unclear. I would like to make up some new words to clarify the different stages of sexual interaction, which would make explaining what you did the night before to friends far less confusing, like just kissing is called “kissing”, and anything beyond that is called “more then kissing.” It’s a simple system but it might work.

Anyway here is the mix cd I subjected the van to today

To Build a Home – Cinematic Orchestra           

Horse and I – Bat For Lashes

Way Out   – Ellen Allien & Apparat

I’ll Kill Her – Soko           

Electioneering – Radiohead           

A Perfect Day Elise – PJ Harvey           

Girl’s Night Out – The Knife

Something to Do With My Hands – Her Space Holiday           

Burn That Broken Bed   –    Calexico / Iron & Wine

Silence      – Portishead

Class Of 73 Bells (feat. School Of Seven Bells) – Prefuse 73           

Big Wheel- Tori Amos           

In Remote Part/Scottish Fiction – Idlewild

Dead Sound   – The Raveonettes           

Young Liars     – TV on the Radio           

Do You Remember the First Time?- Pulp  (Weirdly Gareth had already put this on his future mix cd)          

Profanity Prayers   – Beck    

Ellen x       

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think this comic speaks to your sidenote:
http://overcompensating.com/posts/20081030.html

Comment by Eric

Something To Do With My Hands.. is probably one of my Top 10 favorite songs ever. Fantastic choice 🙂

Comment by Jeska

>there is nothing which beats the psychological trauma of the “I Secretly Love You” mix cd.

Comment by Michael

Apologies for accidentally pressing enter!
I meant to say:

>there is nothing which beats the psychological trauma of the “I Secretly Love You” mix cd.

Why have I not done this yet??

Comment by Michael

I love love love that you had Tori Amos on your mix!
I am M.I.L.F. donchu forget!
Ha

Comment by Blake

Once I made a mix that spelled out the girl’s name with first letters of song titles 😦

Comment by Garrett

Once I made a mix that spelled out my name with the first letters of song titles 🙂

Comment by Alison

I might make a mix which spells out my opinions on the recent global recession with the first letters of song titles. x

Comment by Ellen




Leave a Reply

