LC!


Food Review – Portland 12/04/09 by Ollie
April 13, 2009, 6:16 pm
Filed under: CHAFF

I had been told that the food in the Wonder Bar under the Wonder Ballroom was good so I decided to try it out.  I have to admit that my intake of fruit and veg has been pretty low recently so I opted for the Garden Burger, with a side salad.  The burger came with cheddar on it.  The burger was an odd colour went it turned up but of course it’s not going to look like a normal burger!  It tasted very beany, the texture was soft with a slight crispiness to the edges.  The cheese had a nice flavour but I wouldn’t have regarded it as proper cheddar.  Being a Somerset boy I like my cheddar mature!  The bun was nice and soft with sesame seeds on it.

The salad had a large variety of leaves, it came with a solitary bit of cucumber and tomato and whilst they were flavoursome it could have done with a bit more.  There was also a lot of onion and whist onion adds flaour it can over power the rest of the salad.  The salad came with a balsamic vinaigrette, which was sweet but it was very thick, I prefer dressing runnier.  You could have had fries instead of salad if you wanted to.

Here is a picture of my plate after I’d eaten, I forgot to take one before.  i didn’t want my breath to smell of onion too much.

img_0067

The food was standard for what the place was like.  It was a suitable meal to have before a show and at $7, pretty good value.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sacramento show tonight or tomorrow? Thanks!

Comment by P

Oh, I love the Wonder Ballroom.

Comment by Clair




Leave a Reply

