LC!


Coachella la la by Ellen
April 20, 2009, 3:32 am
Filed under: CHAFF

 

I think these photos sum up some of the backstage vibe that transcended Coachella

Before wondering around the backstage: Pale and British with sprightly and naive wide eyed innocence. 

img_24831

 

After: Coke addled jaded hipsters.

img_2484

 

The show went very well although we were marred by festival technical difficulties, but nothing beats watching Ollie crowdsurfing at the end of the set. Shame he got dropped. I feared for his precious face.

Myself and Aleks found out that Hyde from that 70’s show had watched our set. We almost met him at a party in a R.V but we got too sleepy to wait for him to pop along, so we stole some cookies and then left. Nice cookies too.

Below is Amanda Palmer. I would say I like her but this is perhaps not a strong enough word for the unrelenting admiration and esteem I hold her in. I watched the set on the Saturday, and then spotted her in the backstage area. I downed three quarters of a bottle of wine so I could build up the courage to approach her. Turns out she is lovely, and fascinating, and cool, and warm… it also turns out I could not think of one thing to say to her that was not inane and a conversation killer. Then I lost her. Never meet your idols. You only come across as a muppet.

 

img_2494

(She is taking a twitter pic)

Neil threw a water balloon at Billy Talent by mistake, and we spotted Reese and Jake at Fleetfoxes. She was small, and he was buff. Gang Gang Dance were ace, and Morrisey wore the most fetching Chiffon blouse. Has anyone ever noticed he looks like Stewart Lee? 

We also got invited to a few “gifting parties” and if you are aware of “The Hills” and “The O.C” then picture that, add in a pool, some free shoes and a whole load of vitamin water infused vodka drinks. Make sure you factor in seven people wondering around looking like they are at a Butlins holiday camp.

I got some really nice free lip balm.

I also saw Brandon Flowers having a nap. He looked peaceful.

I saw one of the twins off Sweet Valley High. I was going to tell her I thought the book to TV adaptation was clumsily handled, but she looked quite tired so I left it.

We did a signing and got handed a child. It has been years since I held a baby so I was somewhat nervous when she was passed down the line towards me. She looked very confused. Maybe she preferred our earlier stuff.

I did a lot of filming so expect some visual highlights when I get that lead that plugs into my camera

Ellen x

 

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

See you tomorrow at La Trastienda in Buenos Aires. Can’t wait for that! It’s gonna be a great show.

Comment by Nick

My god, your Amanda Palmer experience makes me feel so much better about our meeting in Minneapolis.

Comment by Noah

“Morrisey wore the most fetching Chiffon blouse. Has anyone ever noticed he looks like Stewart Lee?”

YES. Oh my god I thought I was the only one.

Comment by Charlotte

WOO! Amanda Fucking Palmer!! seems like you saw all these famous people but didn’t seem to talk to anyone else except amanda…

Comment by Trung

The water balloon doesn’t seem like a mistake at all.

Comment by Julia

I saw one of the twins off Sweet Valley High. I was going to tell her I thought the book to TV adaptation was clumsily handled, but she looked quite tired so I left it.

HAHAHAHA! Amazing.

Comment by Yaz

See you today @ Buenos Aires! I Hope you like our steaks! I’ll give you a Fernet.

Comment by Mike

hola doll!!!!
i was so sad i lost you!
we must hang again, less noise this time. tell me about your whereabouts. and you need to meet neil 🙂
x
a

Comment by amanda

Pre-coachella I liked yout music but after your Coachella performance you have moved right up to my number 1 favorite band, and I hope to see you again in the near future.

Comment by Shawn

Hey Ellen, thank you and the rest of the gang for signing my CD. And if you’re talking about the baby, I got pics of that here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/hvalencia/3461470465/

Comment by Hernan Valencia




Leave a Reply

