LC!


Currently… by Gareth
April 24, 2009, 12:32 am
Filed under: CHAFF

Your Turn…

17 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Is that an Atlético Nacional insignia? I believe it is! Makes me miss my hometown.

Comment by Diana

please don’t you forget about this one: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/lt/5/57/Ferro_carril_oeste.gif

Comment by julia

Who’s the bottom photo?

Currently reading: Like A Fiery Elephant by Jonathan Coe, Election by Tom Perrotta (for fun) and Death in Venice + Mario and the Magician by Thomas Mann (or uni). Need to read more Virginia Woolf for uni in the near future and WANT to read Douglas Coupland’s Generation X and all the Dave Eggers I haven’t yet read next.

Currently listening to a lot of: Destroyer, Okkervil River, Casiotone for the Painfully Alone, Why?, Art Brut, Saint Etienne and Los Campesinos!

Comment by Miles

Currently reading Burning Your Boats by Angela Carter, re-reading the Favourite Game by Leonard Cohen and reading Diary of a Madman by Gogol/The Double by Dostoevsky for uni. Probably should be reading Shakespeare too.
Currently listening to quite a lot of Los Campesinos! Patrick Wolf, Micachu, The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, the Smiths and Jeremy Jay

Comment by madeleine

I’m reading Michel Houellebecq’s ‘Atomised’. so depressing, but so good! Just watched ‘Otis’ which i thought was wickedly funny. Currently listening to the pains of being pure at heart, oldskool pavement and the new Dana. I’m assuming that last one is last concert, so i’ll say jenny lewis.
Miles: if you hover over the picture it’ll tell you that it’s a band known as ‘gowns’

Comment by Trung

Atletico Nacional? Hmm, eager for that gig tomorrow as well? I hope you are because I as hell am. See you tomorrowzzz!! 😀

Comment by Adri

I’m so down ’cause I can’t go to the concert tomorrow (24th) but my friends met you tonight at La Hamburguesería and they just told me some of you signed something for me 😀 😀 😀
I hope you guys are enjoying the city.

Comment by Nata

The bottom picture is Erika from Gowns. I don’t know what she represents. Could be any number of things I suppose. But Gowns are one of the very few bands that I love that I can’t understand why they aren’t massive (in certain circles). In a similar way to prolapse or Ten Grand. I mean, they’re incredible, and have all the hallmarks of a band that have been totally ravished by ‘the underground’, but…alas…

Comment by Gareth

Thanks Trung. You’d think after four or five years on the internet I’d know to do that.

Thanks Gareth, I’ll admit I can’t get into Ten Grand (the song titles are amazing but it’s all just a bit too, um, loud for me I think) but I’ll definitely try Gowns.

Comment by Miles

Listening to a lot of early Okkervil River, of Montreal, St. Vincent (brilliant album!), Grizzly Bear, Phoenix and Casiotone for the Painfully Alone. Oh, and LC! of course!

Reading Hamlet, mostly because I have to, and The Monk by Matthew Lewis. And watching a lot of the glorious genius that is 30 Rock.

Comment by Laurence

Why nacional?????

Comment by Willie

Reading: The Thrive Diet by Brendan Brazier (vegan Ironman/my new hero/Canadian), Griffin & Sabine Trilogy, House of Leaves
Listening: The Twilight Sad – Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters, Fever Ray – s/t, Phoenix – Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix, The Wedding Present – George Best, Mountains – anything streaming online, Yeah Yeah Yeahs – It’s Blitz!, Fujiya & Miyagi – lightbulbs
Watching: The Wire (so far, just a cop drama everyone. i don’t get it. nor do i like cop dramas), Farscape
Eating: a lot of nuts, walnuts in particular, and pumpkin seed nut butter, and cabbage, the underrated veg i just discovered that i love

Comment by Julia

I’m currently in the middle of A Clockwork Orange and The Time Traveler’s Wife, the latter of which isn’t too intellectually stimulating (and so is a little embarrassing to list with a lot of these other books) but it’s finals week so I don’t want to have to think too hard.

Listening to a lot of “local” San Diego artists – Bushwalla, Dawn Mitschele, Josh Damigo, and so on. Also Casiotone For The Painfully Alone, Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks, Those Dancing Days. And podcasts (mostly just RELEVANT).
And LC!, of course.

Been watching a lot of 30 rock, south park, daily show, colbert report. And baseball. Roommate loves baseball.

And playing World of Warcraft. (Embarrassing, but cathartic.)

Comment by Alison

Reading: Requiem for a dream.
Listening to: Dig, Lazarus Dig!!!; WAB, WAD; The Airing of Grievances; ITAOS.
Watching: Harper’s Island; Heroes
Last Concert: Dan Deacon
Next Concert: Mogwai

Comment by Brendan

Los Campesinos ruless!!
nacional sucks!

Comment by nhaa

Currently:
reading-the complete works of E.A.P.
listening to-Los Campesinos! is spanish for…THE campesinos! (oh chris farley)
watching-all kinds of funny like the office, parks and recreation, 30 rock, south park, aqua teen, robot pollo, and probably some cubs action soon (funny and sad) go cubs! fingers crossed oh and lately some history and discovery channel, and i love lucy when i can catch it on the hallmark channel-love it
other than that yelling at my sister for leaving too much hair in the bathroom sink…it’s got to stop!

shiznoz bigor

Comment by A!

(Re-)reading: ‘Bad Vibes: Britpop and My Part in Its Downfall’ by Luke Haines
Listening: M83, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, The Pains Of Being Pure at Heart, Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Watching: Ashes To Ashes
Last gig: Marble Valley
Next gig: Jeffrey Lewis

x

Comment by Matthew




Leave a Reply

