LC!


Food Review – Los Angeles 19/04/09 by Ollie
April 24, 2009, 12:30 am
Filed under: CHAFF

 

I’m not the biggest fan of fast food.  In fact, to be honest, I can’t stand it!  I will go out of my way to avoid the big ones (McDonalds, Burger King, KFC), but when it comes to local chains I tend to be more open.  Every time we’ve been in Los Angeles, people have mentioned a chain called In-and-Out Burger.  We’ve never been able to get to one until when we were on our way back from Coachella.

img_00811

I decided to go for the double meal, which was two burgers with cheese, fries and a drink.  You had the option for going with onion in your burger, and I like a bit of crunch and flavour so I said yes.

img_0082

The burgers were hot and very moist.  They tasted like they had been cooked there and then, rather than hanging around for a while.  The cheese was processed, but it was actually quite flavoursome and didn’t have a texture resembling an eraser!  The bun was soft, it did fall apart a bit, which led to greasy fingers.  I wish I hadn’t asked for onion though, there was too much of it and you would occasionally get mouthfulls of onion, leaving not the greatest taste in your mouth.

The fries were fresh, crispy but not so much that you thought you were eating crisps/chips rather than fries/chips.  They slightly had the flavour of the crisps/chips that were similar to fries/chips, if you know what I mean!

The coke was also pretty good, not too much ice and it didn’t taste of caramel, which coke can do when you get it out of machines.

Even if you don’t like McDonalds, I suggest that you try In-and-Out Burger.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You really need to get it Animal Style. It’s part of their famous “hidden menu”. It comes with grilled onions that way. You can also get the fries “well done”, so they’re crispier. Again, not on the menu.

In-N-Out is, without question, the greatest fast food chain burger on the planet.

Comment by Seitz

Hmm, link didn’t work. Trying again. Hidden Menu

Comment by Seitz

Yay, you took my advice! Glad you enjoyed it, Ollie!

Comment by Peter

I find their raw onions a little more pungent than I normally prefer, but their grilled onions are amazing.

Comment by Alison

In-N-Out is the rad. The reason it is so good is because they get all of their food from local grocery stores.

Comment by Jon

How weird is it that I saw someone at school today in an In-N-Out t-shirt?

Comment by Clair

i reccomend jack rabbit slims, or big kahuna.
this is all very pulp fiction/big lebowski…

anyways, come back to buenos aires, i missed you last week (i had a history test the following day), and i want to cut my legs of for it.

love
fede

Comment by fede

very big lebowski indeed 🙂 can’t wait to get my fair share this summer. ps props for the hidden menu!

Comment by Kevin




Leave a Reply

