LC!


Sunday May 3rd by Gareth
May 4, 2009, 7:36 pm
Filed under: CHAFF

Yesterday, our main man, Mark Bowen of Wichita Recordings arrived in Seattle, from visiting the Cribs in Los Angeles. Mark is a king among men. I was lucky enough to still be away from the studio, under the guise of “writing lyrics”, so I got to spend a day with Mark up the Space Needle, and then on the monorail, and then in Pike Place Market.

Pike Place Market has a really great and friendly and CHEAP second hand bookstore, and Mark treated me to some Reccomended Reading:

The Stranger – Albert Camus

Libra – Don DeLillo

The Sun Also Rises – Ernest Hemingway

Franny and Zooey – J.D.Salinger

Should I be excited to read these, anyone?

I also got some really cool 1980s versions of Vonnegut books. And a copy of FEVER PITCH, because somehow I’ve never read it. Is it rubs?

Here’s a picture of all the books I have to somehow fit in my suitcase when we leave Hamerica:

Then, in the evening, we went back to Bamboo Garden for AWESOME VEGAN CHINESE FOOD. Mark hadn’t been before, but he’s in the process of trying to sign the restaurant to Wichita. “East London needs this!”.

We all got fortune cookies. This is what they said:

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The Sun Also Rises is a great book! I read it last with low expectations but I liked it a lot, you should read A Farewell to Arms too

Comment by Peter

You should be excited for Franny and Zooey. It is an amazing book.
Q.E

Comment by Quinn Essential

Franny and Zooey is an amazing book with very interesting characters. You will like it if you like Wes Anderson films, and vice versa.
And I read The Stranger a couple of years ago for my existential lit class. Not my type of book, but very telling about our society.

Comment by Diana

Franny & Zooey and The Stranger! ❤

Comment by Daniel

“I urge you to please notice when you are happy, and exclaim or murmur or think at some point, ‘If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.'”
I am actually on my way to buy a Vonnegut original as I type!

Comment by CM

Franny & Zooey is awesome, as is the Stranger, which for some reason is translated as The Outsider in the UK and everywhere else but North America. i can see the Bell Jar at the bottom of all those. so my three favourite books in a pile. be excited!
if you guys come to australia i will make you all over-sized cup cakes in celebration of being, in yet more ways, awesome

Comment by maddy

I can’t comment on those books, but I’ll say I’ve pledged to only buy old copy Vonnegut books, because they’re so much prettier (wrong adjective to describe Mother Night though – swastika on the cover, probably not the graphic of choice for a newer version). Looks like you have Galapagos, which is my favorite in terms of aesthetics. Mine has an plastic sleeve over it like an old library book. Love it.

Comment by Julia

wish there was an edit function!

Comment by Julia

o man! I think i saw you wandering around pike place..i wasn’t sure if it was you

Comment by Jasmine

the stranger is fantastic! and i hear white noise is great. i borrowed it from a friend once, but as soon as i did, all the pages fell out! tell me how it goes.

Comment by rp!

aaah, you got the new jeffrey brown. is it good?

Comment by owennn




Leave a Reply

