LC!


Half Marathon Update by Leks
June 28, 2009, 6:52 pm
Filed under: WHEAT

Hello!

I know I haven’t mentioned anything about this Half Marathon Thang since that initial post so I thought I’d just reassure you all: I AM still doing it. In fact it’s reached that stage where it’s scarily close… only 6 days to go.
I’ve been following a proper “Training Schedule” for the past couple of weeks and I haven’t collapsed or broken anything yet so I’m taking that as a positive sign. I’ve also been spending far too much time perusing websites dedicated to running, well just Runners World really but even that’s enough. My favourite bits are cautionary tales about not eating too much fibre before a race.
The best part of the whole experience so far (and only decent justification for this post) is the free running top I received from the Alzheimer’s Society.
CHECK IT OUT.

P6280007

The front isn’t very exciting…

I also wanted to say a massive thank you to any of you that have donated, my total is currently £390, which is more than I could have hoped for. I think the page stays open for up to 3 months after the event. (In case you want evidence that I make it to the end before you donate… a wise move)

Next running blog: AFTER RACE DAY. If I can still move…

x

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Its great you are doing this for charity, and that cause makes me very sinsitive since i suffered a case in my family. Thanks, and good luck!

Comment by Chalico

Good luck. Unfortunately, I cannae afford to sponser you now but I may jam WABWAD on the day to try for some Prof. Xavier-esque encouragement.

Comment by Samuel

Good luck!
well hmm how to put this. this is going to sound awkward and terrible but it is good advice i suppose. I was raised in a family of marathon runners and triathletes and I think it might be best for you to google/search engine of your choice the “bloody nipples” fiasco that plagues many first time runners.
Hope that’s not too off-putting. Have fun in your race!

Comment by Shannon

Yes! I love that elephant! Good luck!

Comment by Tess

Ah, yes, the importance of a fibrous breakfast. I would have taken home a small fistful of cash for finishing under a certain time as a first-time marathoner had I not stopped to use the porta-potty. Twice. Try to give yourself two hours between breakfast and race, if you can handle getting up that early. I’m sure you’ve heard such advice on those overly-addictive running forums.

Also jealous that none of my race shirts have cute-but-powerful animals on them. And it looks so technical!

Comment by Eric

What a cute elephant 🙂 Good luck !

Comment by malinhanssen

So…how did it go?

Comment by Julia

Leks..

What ever you do…do not run in Vasalia, CA. See link below..see number 7:

http://www.lungusa.org/site/c.dvLUK9O0E/b.50752/k.D532/Rankings.htm

also…when you are playing at Brookdale Lodge…sneak away to run at this location:

http://www.parks.ca.gov/default.asp?page_id=25091

running among the redwood is life changing.

Comment by Todd




Leave a Reply

