LC!


LOS CAMPESINOS! RECORD BOX PROJECT 2009. HOW TO WIN!! by LC!
September 7, 2009, 6:23 pm
Filed under: RECORD BOX PROJECT 2009
  • Xiu Xiu/High Places 7″ Split (includes David Horvitz polaroid)
  • Lovvers Laughing Man 7″
  • Casiotone For The Painfully Alone Town Topic EP
  • BARR The Song Is The Single 7″
  • Dan Deacon/Future Islands 7″ Split
  • Cheap Time Woodland Drive 7″
  • Telepathe/Effi Briest 7″ Split.
  • Tokyo Police Club Tessellate 7″ (featuring Tom Campesinos! remix)
  • Zola Jesus Poor Sons 7″
  • No Age Eraser 7″ (SIGNED!!)
  • HEALTH Die Slow 7″
  • Times New Viking Stay Awake 7″ EP
  • bis Sweet Shop Avengerz 7″
  • Abe Vigoda Animal Ghosts 7″
  • Deerhunter Nothing Ever Happened 7″
  • Big Black He’s A Whore/The Model 7″
  • Bikini Kill New Radio/Rebel Girl/Demi Rep 7″
  • Art Brut Alcoholics Unanimous 7″
  • Q And Not U Hot And Informed 7″
  • The Smiths William, It Was Really Nothing/Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want 7″
  • The Hot Puppies Somewhere 7″
  • The Housemartins Five Get Over Excited 7″
  • Fucked Up Year Of The Pig 7″
  • Les Savy Fav Plagues And Snakes 7″ (Wake Up A Snake/Raging In The Plague Age)
  • Electrelane In Berlin 7″
  • The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart Young Adult Friction 7″
  • Preston School Of Industry Falling Away 7″
  • Dead Science Tomlab Alphabet Singles Series 7″
  • The Mountain Goats Palmcoder Yajna 7″
  • Hearts Of Animals Hearts Of Animals 7″
  • Help She Can’t Swim Hospital Drama 7″
  • Vivian Girls Surf’s Up 7″
  • Gossip Gossip 7″
  • The xx Crystalised 7″
  • Low Santa’s Coming Over
  • The Locust/Melt Banana Split 7″
  • Mudhoney Touch Me I’m Sick 7″
  • Blonde Redhead Symphony of Treble 7″
  • Sounds Of The American Fast Food Restaurants – 10 Authentic Field Recordings 7″
  • Voxtrot Blood Red Blood 7″
  • Scout Niblett It’s Time My Beloved 7″
  • The New Trust Dark Is The Path Which Lies Before Us 7″ Album
  • Vivian Girls Wild Eyes 7″
  • Parenthetical Girls A Song For Ellie Greenwich 7″
  • Sleater-Kinney Get Up 7″
  • Dananananaykroyd Pink Sabbath 7″
  • Dananananaykroyd Black Wax 7″
  • Girls Lust For Life 7″
  • Miscellaneous Badges
  • A couple of ‘Zines

To win, please send your answer in an email entitled “Record Box Competition Entry” to romanceisboring@gmail.com

Competition closes on Monday 14th September.

To clarify. You need list the artists or bands who are mentioned by name in the clips, but are not in any of the bands/aren’t any of the artists who have a 7″ in the box. SO Moz doesn’t count, because he was in a band called The Smiths who have a 7″ within it. COOL? Cool.

94 Comments so far
Leave a comment

just to make sure – is this UK only?

Comment by David

Excellent!! Can’t wait to enter!

Comment by Bryce M.

Have we, at any point, said it was UK only?

Comment by Gareth

Spose not – like I said, just wanted to make sure.

Off to re-watch the videos now. 🙂

Comment by David

Brilliant. Very professional. Can’t wait!

Comment by Shannon

Good lad.

Comment by Gareth

Entered! 😀 I just hope I havnt made any stupid mistakes!

Comment by jack

Do producers count as people who “made music”?

Comment by Tiago F

[…] Gareth explain how it could be you. Then you’ll want to be heading to the Los Campesinos! blog to get […]

Pingback by [News] Win A Box Full Of Records Picked By Los Campesinos! — The CHURN

i’m up to ten and there are two that are just indecipherable mumbles so far. my heart is breaking.

Comment by lrkn

Does one lose points if he or she mentions any extra bands that he or she wasn’t sure about?

Comment by michael

Ah man, I’m in for a longggggg night. I’m pretty much on dial up speed internet, but that record box will be mine!

Comment by Hannah

I have a provisional list but there are some that I don’t know if they count as proper mentions. If I mention them and they’re not directly mentioned will it be penalised? Within reason, I’m not throwing James Brown in or anything.

Comment by lrkn

Is it a toss between everyone who gets them all, or does it go to the first one, or what?

but yeah, there’s definitely some undecipherable mumbles. Ah well, I’ll give it my best.

Comment by Tina

The sound quality on some of the clips makes this quite difficult – but I shall carry on! Feels wrong to give up when Gareth wore a tie and everything…

Comment by davis64

Ok, its good that you’ve made a competition that requires some effort, but whatever gareth says at the end of the bis video is incomprehensible! this is gonna kill me. And I was doing alright up to then.

I’m with Hannah, it’s gonna be a long night.

Comment by Jed

There’s just one I can’t get. Obviously, it is driving me mad.

Comment by David

Can we include musicians whose solo stuff is absent, but has their music as a part of a band in the box? (like MORRISSEY!)

Comment by candy_talking

OOOHH!! Think I’ve got the bis one now!

Comment by Jed

HEY GUYS,
Please rest assured all the band/artist names are perfectly audible.
For example, the one during the bis video, three people have already recognised correctly.
Any of the real, hardcore ‘mumbling’ is answer-free.
Thanks for entering,
G

Comment by Gareth

I guess this is it for me… So long, Record Box… )’:

Comment by Tiago F

oh well

Comment by michael

Love ye but Gareth do you have to act like such a nobber in the vid? :):):):)

Comment by Samuel

Ohmygod! I’m absolutely dying. This is so much work and I have school the next day 😦 I must rewatch all of the videos I need it so badly

Comment by Victoria

Oh nooo I’m going to lose. ):

Comment by Clair

absolute excellent. I look forward to this after a long day of volunteering in a school tomorrow.

Comment by Matthew

#9 is killing me. I sincerely think I have every other band as much as referred to and I don’t want to just guess the second one in #9 because if that was the one that tripped me up I’d be a tear stricken wreck.

Comment by lrkn

#9 is just TOO quiet. I look like a retard in my kitchen with the volume all the way up and my ears against my speakers. Oh the things I do for you LC!

Comment by Hannah

AND I’ve played “ahvbfs vs Morrissey” over and over and it doesn’t even sound like words anymore!

Comment by Hannah

I listened back to 9 and it IS pretty tough, so I’ll let people off there. I say James Brown.

ALSO, Paul Heaton was in the Housemartins, and Morrissey was in the Smiths. So their names aren’t necessary. No points deducted though.

Comment by Gareth

Damn, spent ages deciphering 9. Was it from the Rocky soundtrack, or was I imagining that? You start to imagine things when you listen to them thirty or forty times.

Comment by J

First of all – Gareth I Love You! – Awesome Speech!!!

Secondly – I know it’s not in the fine print (or maybe it is) but since I contributed something to the box I’m going to take myself out of the running, but I wish everyone else the best of luck!

Finally – Gareth, will there be any consolation prizes? I always have extra mix cds and promo stuff from other bands if anyone is interested in that.

Comment by Hugo

THIS IS AMAZING. Very torturous, but still fun…
I’m sorry to insist, but you didn’t answer before…Do producers count? Does Morrissey count? Do remixers count?
Does what Ellen say at 0:20 in the TESSELATE video count?
Thanks (& Love),
Fede

Comment by Fede

Oh sorry, you did answer Morrissey…

Comment by Fede

So, were you in fact channeling Dr. Frankenfurter/Tim Curry in his famous “I have that power” scene from Rocky Horror?

Comment by Andy

i got 6 clear ones… looks like i won’t be winning this one… =[

Comment by jared

Hehe. I must say this is a fun distraction from homework. I’m determined to figure out what ellen is saying there too, but this was a bad time for last.fm to go down to see if my possibilities are actual bands/people.

Comment by loren

Shit, I thought I heard James Brown. Fuck. Fuck. Fuuuuuuck.

Comment by Tiago F

Apologies for the swearing.

Comment by Tiago F

I thought it might have been James Brown but I was all “NO WAY”

Comment by michael

Gareth, I closed my eyes and I heard the voice of the next Russell Brand (seriously, do it, there is a strange resemblance).
If you close the next video (and/or post) with the words “May the force be with you” or “By the power of Grayskull”, you’ ll be number one on my list of people who deserve getting a reality show made of them.

Comment by sil

this is the best video i’ve ever seen

Comment by megan

Hey on the video TESSELLATE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JrktTJD2ADM), at :49 it is definitely a band name but I can’t make it out. I had 4 other people help me but none of them could make it out either. Does that one count or does it go under the inaudible ones? Just curious, or maybe I’m the only one who can’t figure this one out. It’s the last one, then i’m done!

Comment by Ryan Parker

:49 is audible. You just have to listen. So I don’t think it would fall under inaudible ones.

Comment by Corinne

how many bands did everyone get so far?

Comment by Ray

The one at :49 in ‘Tessellate’ doesn’t count because she’s in the box later.

It’s Scout Niblett.

Comment by J

This video broke the shit mood I was in last night. Nicely done.

Comment by Julia

Hahaha, great video!

Comment by Pats

I got about 10 or 11.
I know I missed 1, and I think I included 1 or 2 that shouldn’t be in there…

Comment by Fede

I got 17, few of them don’t count though

Comment by metamagical

Do we get points off for not turning it in earlier than the end date? The wifi in my building is complete shit so I need to find a Starbucks in London with wifi.

Comment by Allison

Anyone found out if producers/mixers/engineers/etc count? Or what Ellen said at :20 in the Tesselate video?

Comment by Madeline

the Tesselate vid at :20 was pretty annoying but i got it after a while.
Got 15 but i’m not sure whether or not some of them count

Comment by megan

I haven’t found out about producers, but I did get that one at 0:20, only because I recognized the album art though…

Comment by fede

what is Neil’s other band? I already submited but I still am curious.

Comment by your little helper

I’m not happy about this. I spent at least 5 minutes the other night working on that Bis mumble, replaying it and it gets given away here?

I was well proud I got it in the end.

Comment by kieran

aw shit, just realised i missed out Neil’s other band anyway 😦 do they count? balls.

Comment by kieran

What does Neil say in #3 “A fine selection of _____?

Comment by Matt

don’t think Neil’s other band counts, as they just say “Neil’s other band”

Comment by megan

if you get it, you basically win. he said that the band toured in support of vivian girls, so i looked up EVERY band that they ever toured with. No dice 😦

Comment by Ray

Neil’s other band (now defunct) is called Crimesss. They’re in our top friends on myspace. They were dead good.
But they’re not an answer.
Pay attention.

Comment by Gareth

Do the “engineers” or producers count as “in” the band?

Comment by Matt

No, because they aren’t in the band.

Comment by Gareth

Do engineers/directors count as artists?

Comment by Matt

Why isn’t Crimesss an answer?

Comment by Madeline

Does anyone say “Crimesss” in any of the videos?

Comment by Gareth

Right, right. So it’s names that are said, not references that are made. Thanks, Gareth!

Comment by Madeline

Will #3 be counted? It sounds like a band name that Neil says. Sounds like a mumble.

Comment by Matt

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sd65d7F-Nm4 1:04 Is that a band name he says? I just need a yes or no.

Comment by hh

I thought I was being clever with Crimesss but fuck it, happy that I insured myself. With mentioned by name in mind fair enough but eh.

Comment by lrkn

yes, 1:04 is indeed a band name

Comment by your little helper

LC! has no work in the box, but is mentioned by Gareth in the first vid. I didn’t put LC! on my list but I’m freaking out b/c I don’t know weather the judges are going to be looking for LC! on the list…
any help on this subject, Gareth?

Comment by your little helper

#3 is also killing me. can anyone give a yes or no opinion on whether that’s a band named at 0:16…. I am just hearing whatever I want to hear at this point.

Comment by Eric

Same for me on #3. I have gone through so many different words and am ready to just give up at this point.

Comment by Corinne

Submitted my answers.. I don’t want to look back at the comments because I have a feeling someone is going to say something that I missed and I will want to punch myself in the face.

Comment by Ryan

that’s why i’m trying to wait last minute to turn it in, because if anyone releases any news i’ll hate myself

and #3 has really got me suicidal. i’ve given up on it and i’m just going to assume it’s nothing

Comment by megan

I realized I checked off notify me of follow up e-mails so I’m going to be reading every comment haha. I didn’t both with #3.. there is no way if that was a band name, they could count it. They could, but yeah..

Also, how is this contest winner being chosen? What if more than one person gets the right answers?

Comment by Ryan

0:16 with Neil is just ‘…a better limited supply than HMV’ or something similar. No band name.

Comment by Josh

Yeah, a friend with fresh ears listened to it today and was like, oh, it’s just a joke about HMV. Glad to hear someone else hears that.

Comment by Eric

Are the bands mentioned in the first video introducing the box to be counted? I can’t understand them at all. At least I think they’re band names

Comment by Matt

Yaarg, I really want that box, some of the band names are really hard to hear!! Blog 15 is driving me crazy :0

By the way, cheers to you guys for being so generous and spending your own moneys on accumulating such a cool prize!! 😀

Comment by Stephen

I think I missed 2 of them, aww shit, I mean sugar!!

Comment by Stephen

Did anyone else pick up on “The Kids Don’t Stand a Chance” being a Vampire Weekend single, not a band name? The name wasn’t said so it doesn’t count, which is why I’m mentioning it. 🙂

Comment by Julia

I put it like this “The Kids Don’t Stand A Chance (I’m pretty sure this is actually a Vampire Weekend single, but whatever)”

Comment by fede

crap I didn’t see the little notification. I put Morrissey on my list. Is it on the DL how the “weinner” will be notified? I’m curious…!!!!!!

Comment by your little helper

I had The Kids Don’t Stand A Chance on my list but after googling around for 10 minutes I realized it wasn’t a band so I didn’t put it on my list. Phew.

Comment by Ryan

I think I put something like “don’t want to sound like a smartarse but kids don’t stand a chance is a vampire weekend single.” So I mentioned both just to be safe.

I’m getting well exited now. I wonder how long it will be until the winner is announced.

Comment by Jed

I put down The Kids Dont Stand A Chance despite knowing it was a Vampire Weekend song, because of the way Ellen said “haven’t really heard of them”, I figured they might also be some obscure band.

Comment by Tina

I really hope The Kids Don’t Stand a Chance isn’t also a band, I decided not to list them after searching for a band by that name and not finding anything and naturally the Vampire Weekend song instantly popped to mind.

Comment by Nick

Guys, don’t freak out. You can clearly see the cover art of the Vampire Weekend single in the video.

Comment by mm

I had a dream about losing this competition last night…. well, my chances are gone.

Comment by calvin

when do we find out whos won?

Comment by Becky

yes.. when do we find out?

Comment by kimber

when is the winner being announced?

Comment by impashintD00d101




Leave a Reply

