LC!


VIDEO: There Are Listed Buildings by Gareth
October 5, 2009, 8:19 am
Filed under: WHEAT

46 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What an awesome video!

I always love music videos that have the same kind of tone and feeling like this one.
For example : Tokyo Police Club’s “Your English Is Good” and Girls’ “Lust For Life”.
BUT, What makes this video special is it’s wonderful story!
OH! and the editing is superb! who made the video? was it shot in Super 8?

by the way, can’t wait for another new tunes from the new album.
Hope that someday i could catch you guys live.

Glory Glory Man Utd Gareth!
From Indonesia with love..

Comment by Xandega Tahajuansya

The song’s really grown on me and this video is excellent. Looking forward to the new album x

Comment by Andrew

I think this song just ‘clicked’ for me with the video. Great stuff. This album is going to be powerful. Can’t wait for the Glasgow Hallowe’en gig! Hope LC! are dressing up xx

Comment by Cal

i think this is my favourite of your videos. it’s amazing and really beautiful. i love all the crosses and the balloons.

Comment by charlotte

A rare video that mutually complements its music, enhancing both.

Comment by Ben

Beautiful, beautiful video! The song and visuals mesh so perfectly together. Thank you so much for sharing all of this with your fans, you spoil us ๐Ÿ™‚ its really amazing of you guys!

Comment by Allison

Superb.

The song has grown on me so much since I first heard it, and the video has just blown me away, I cant help but fall in love with the two.

Please come to Keele ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Comment by Marty

What a great thing to wake upp to! Thanks! It is absolutely brilliant as always. If there is one thing I can depend it is that Los Campesinos! Will never fail me!

Comment by Shannon

What a pleasant surprise to come back from school and hear that you guys had a new single out. Thank you for providing me with yet another amazing song to put on repeat endlessly.

Comment by Andrew

Oh shit nice. Where was this all filmed? Tractors, small town carnival rides, and restaurants with โ€˜countryโ€™ in the name โ€“ these things give me boners.

Comment by Eric

i’d like to buy the song

Comment by brian

Cool video, I wonder how the lomo effect was done! Or maybe it was shot in film?

Comment by Pats

Bang! There goes your unbeaten run. Can you take it?

Comment by Reporter

No, I’m just going to crumble like a wreck. I’ll go home, become an alcoholic and maybe jump off a bridge.

…umm, I think I can take it, yeah.

Comment by Gordon Strachan

grrrrrrth, what does the PS in the TALB cover URL stand for? Is it the initials of the new LP title?

Comment by kieran

Very inquisitive.
It’s not any reference to the album title, no.
I think it must be some graphics or design term, as it’s the file name that the image was given when the guys who helped me make the art look nice sent the file back.
I like your work though, kieran.

Comment by Gareth

Kinda unsure at the beginning. Totally won over by the end. The pah baas remind me of Death Cab For Cutie’s ‘Sound of Settling’.

Comment by Mercer Finn

๐Ÿ™‚ lovely. fits the song very well.

Comment by Madeline

GREAT JOB! twee is back and better than ever!

Comment by patchworkpalisades

^^^^^AHAHAHAHAHAHA^^^^^^^

everyone duck for coverrrr!! Patch, you mentioned the ‘T’ word, now you’re gonna get it!

Comment by Trung

What a fun, random video. I love love!

Comment by David

Very nice video. I like.

Comment by Corinne

Its always nice to see something new on the blog when I should be doing homework โ™ฅ

Comment by Jayby

Awesome video! Loved it.
Was that Gareth running at the end?

Comment by Matthew

What’s the probability that the album is named after that older guy’s hat?

Comment by Andrew

YOU DON’T KNOW WHAT ‘TWEE’ MEANS!!!!!!

Comment by Gareth

Haha did someone say twee again! Gareth continue the fight! The last thing we need is the phrase ‘Twee’ going the same way as ‘indie’!

Comment by Watko

What a great video. Nice job pimping the minivan.

Comment by Tender B.

really great song and complimentary video – but there’s one thing bugging me: is it just me or is the opening section in 10/8?! I never hear that timesig anywhere – if it is, that is really cool.

Comment by Liam

(i’m definitely hearing something like measures of 4 then 6 anyway)

Comment by Liam

nice vid! you should do a soundtrack for a short movie at some point.That would be really interesting.
x

Comment by Veee

Hi Liam,

Thanks for the nice words… My understanding of time signatures (and music theory in general) is pretty sketchy, but yeah, there’s lots of 6 beat measures (or 2 beat, with 2 beats being dropped from a 4/4 measure) across the whole album… I’m not sure why, but a lot of our musical ideas just seem to fall into those patterns, and it’s only when figuring them out afterwards for tempo maps or click tracks that I realise it’s happened…

I thought of the start of this song as 3 bars of 4/4 and then one of 2/4… and then in the middle it goes to 3 bars of 3/4 and one bar of 2/4 just for the sheer crazy time-sig’ thrill of it…

Hope that helps…with…something…

x

Comment by tomcamp

Please come to Ireland!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Comment by Stephen

Twee? Not even man!

Comment by por

once again you guys still got it:)

Comment by morris

ha Tom that’s cool man I’m not too great on music theory either but I’ve found myself getting better at time sigs anyway ๐Ÿ˜› I’m not sure if it’s true but I think when you combine things like that it does count as a different timesig altogether – 3 bars of 4/4 then one bar of 2/4 could probably count as 14/16, or maybe I’m just bullshitting haha. Either way the song’s really great and I’m looking forward to more stuff and hopefully to see you in coventry – damn you guys for not touring any closer to me ;P

Comment by Liam

Glad to see you guys are getting out there now! I was actually just at an eb games in london, Ontario, and i saw a commercial come on for Forza 3 racing. At first I was unsure, was that You!Me!Dancing!? Turns out that yes, yes it was.

Comment by Andrew

Strange. Clearly, this means that a couple dates in Ontario are in order on the next N.A. tour.

Comment by Julia

oh man.
THAT GUITAR. right before the chorus.

chills.

Comment by REX

BRING BACK THE CARTOONS!

Comment by Eru

Eru – not a hope in hell.

Comment by Gareth

Eh, yeah, please don’t bring back the cartoons.

Comment by Kyle from TX

I heard that you guys are goin to play in Hong Kong on the 7th of November! congrats guys! Unfortunately,i’m goin to Hong Kong in late November.sigh.
Please stop by in Indonesia/Singapore/Malaysia/Thailand/any south-east Asia country,and i’ll meet you there!

Comment by Xandega Tahajuansya

u glug and u glug,,,great video thought for a sec we had actually gotten an optimistic song about some form of love thanks for clearing that up. c’mon midnight…by the time the album comes out i will have completely ruined this song for myself as i have listened to it over and over again on the many nights when i find myself buzzed and alone before sleep…c’mon midnight

Comment by Ronald

please… just wanna to know … any chances that you are coming back to mexico?

Comment by aLe!

[…] This is the video for “There Are Listed Buildings,” with a fun little story of a clerk plotting to crack his boss’s safe and run away with his girlfriend. Took me a couple times through to really warm to it, but the lomo-esque style is really striking. (via LC!) […]

Pingback by More Pop at Row Three » Los Campesinos! Announces New Album Details - Music, Television, Books and everything else that crosses our minds.




Leave a Reply

